Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from July, 2016

Should We Consider YA easy reading?

This topic only really occurred to me a couple of days ago after a tweet from the YouTuber Zoella was brought to my attention. Zoe who was doing a twitter chat for her Zoella book club made some controversy when the answer to a viewer's question was a little bit of a shock. 
Start with something a little easier, maybe a YA or something smaller to spark your love of books #ZoellaBookClubhttps://t.co/B6rAcosOaK — ZoĆ« (@Zoella) July 20, 2016
I was not the only one who was a little bit shocked by this tweet as it was mentioned by an author on my twitter who straight away dismissed this. I mean in this tweet, Zoe just says that reading YA is quite easy to read in general. 

But is she right? 

I think in some respects she is, I think that you do need to find a book that sparks your love of reading but just because a book is easy to read this does not mean that you have got a love of books. You need to find a book that you really connect with or enjoy first. A slight tangent but the fact tha…

Book Review: Front Lines by Michael Grant

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: Front Lines Author: Michael Grant Source: Netgalley Publisher: Electric Monkey Rating: 5/5 stars






Summary of Front Lines from Goodreads:
A tense, exciting and moving new drama from the bestselling author of the GONE series.
1942. The fate of the world rests on a knife’s edge. And the soldiers who can tip the balance . . . are girls.
Set in an alternate World War II where young women are called up to fight alongside men, this is the story of Rio Richlin and her friends as they go into battle against Hitler’s forces. 
But not everyone believes that they should be on the front lines. Now Rio and her friends must fight not only to survive but to prove their courage and ingenuity. Because the fate of the world is in the hands of the soldier girls.
The first of three books, this is Michael Grant at his epic best.

Book Review Summary:
When I first read the summary for the story, I was excited about the …

Book Review: Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: Tell Us Something True Author: Dana Reinhardt  Source: From publisher  Publisher: Rock The Boat Rating: 5/5 stars






Summary of Tell Us Something True from Goodreads:
For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. 
Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive.
But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. Riv…

Books I Want To Read Before YALC (+ Tips)

With YALC being less than two weeks away, I thought that I would list the books that I want to read before then. I know that two weeks is not that long so I thought 5 books would be achievable. So as well as listing the book, I thought that I would list some tips to help the newbies to the event. So let's get started...

1. Another Day by David Levithan

This is the book that I am currently reading and it a book that I got at YALC last year. I am reading this as I do want to met David Levithan and I was going to take Every Day and Another Day to get signed. It would, therefore, be nice to read this first. 

2. You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan 

Again, another David Levithan book and Nina LaCour is also there so it would also be nice to have a book for her to sign too. I am also excited to read this one too. 

3. The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge 

Since this book won the Costa Book Award, everyone has been raving about it so I think it is about time that I gave it a read. S…

Book Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *



Title: My Life Next Door Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick Source: Netgalley Publisher: Electric Monkey Rating: 3/5 stars






Summary of My Life Next Door from Goodreads:
"One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time."
The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.
As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase's family embraces Samantha - even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha's world. She's suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time…

Book Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: Rebel of the Sands Author: Alwyn Hamilton  Source: NetGalley Publisher: Faber & Faber Rating: 3.5/5 stars






Summary of Rebel of the Sands from Goodreads:
"Tell me that and we'll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that's how you want your story to go and we'll write it straight across the sand."

Dustwalk is an unforgiving, dead-end town. It's not the place to be poor or orphaned or female. And yet Amani Al'Hiza must call it 'home'.

Amani wants to escape and see the world she's heard about in campfire stories.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up, and with him, she has the chance to run. 

But the desert plains are full of dangerous magic. The Sultan's army is on the rise and Amani is soon caught at the heart of a fearless rebellion...

An epic story of swirling desert sands, love, magic and revolution. 

Book Review S…