Skip to main content

Posts

Blog Tour: Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review * Title: Otherworld Authors: Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller
Source: From Publisher  Publisher: Rock The Boat
Rating: 3.5/5 stars (Goodreads|Amazon)
Book Review Summary from Goodreads:
The Company Welcomes you To
OTHERWORLD
The new generation of gaming.
Welcome to real life 2.0.
Are you ready to play?
There are no screens. There are no controls. 
You don’t just see and hear it—you taste, smell, and touch it too.
In this new reality there are no rules to follow, no laws to break.
You can indulge your every desire.
Why would you ever want to leave?
Step into Otherworld. 
Leave your body behind.
Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have created a brilliant and terrifying view of a possible future that’s not far away. OTHERWORLD asks the question we’ll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay?


Book Review:

Otherworld was a book that was getting a lot of hype at YALC th…
Recent posts

Blog Tour: Book Review: No Shame by Anne Cassidy

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: No Shame Author: Anne Cassidy
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(GoodreadsAmazon)












Book Summary from Goodreads:

The powerful companion to NO VIRGIN.
From the author of the critically acclaimed, LOOKING FOR JJ, shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize in 2004 and the Carnegie Medal in 2005.
Stacey Woods has been raped and now she has to go through a different ordeal - the court trial. But nothing in life it seems is black and white and life is not always fair or just. Suddenly it seems that she may not be believed and that the man who attacked her may be found not guilty . . . if so Stacey will ned to find a way to rebuild her life again . . .
A tautly told and important book, perfect for readers of Asking for It by Louise O'Neill.
Book Review: 

Having not read No Virgin by Anne Cassidy I was scared about picking up No Shame in the vain that I might not understa…

Thoughts I had while rereading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

So the last couple of months, I have detailing the thoughts I have had while reading Harry Potter and this will be the last one for a while as I haven't read past Goblet of Fire so let's get started...


I feel sorry for FrankMilk Nagini?Although Wormtail is horrible, Voldemort is worse, he is torturing him by using the name that his friends gave him which is just so....Can I just ask how Lily and James Potter had a small fortune?Is it weird that Veela are mentioned before FleurHarry sees them as almost inhumanDid they really think that Winky could cast the dark mark- really?I wish the Weasley's would take the moneyCalmly notedAlso do they really think that Harry put his name in the Goblet of Fire. Like really.I love sassy Hedwig!Hufflepuff don't get much glory- yeah you can say that again...Snape is so cold...All the good one will be gone- really boys reallyHermione is right! Personality all the way!Hermione is my spirit …

Blog Tour: The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Last Namsara  Author: Kristen Cicarelli
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Gollancz  
Rating: 4/5 stars

(GoodreadsAmazon)












Book Summary from Goodreads:


In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be dark—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death bringer. 
These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up hearing in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.
Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her be…

Duology Book Review: Disruption and Corruption by Jessica Shrivington

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Title: Disruption and Corruption 
Author: Jessica Shrivington 
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: HarperCollins 
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Goodreads| Amazon)









Book Summary from Goodreads:

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match? What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?
Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.
Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loved most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it.
Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer—heir to the M-Corp empire—has become key to Maggie’s plan. But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for? 
In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the m…

Weekend Blitz: What Goes Down by Natalie K. Martin Book Review

* I have received this book for review from NeverlandBlogTours but this in no way affects my review *

Title: What Goes Down 
Author: Natalie K. Martin
Source: From Neverland Blog Tours
Publisher: Self Published
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary: 


WHAT GOES DOWN is an emotional, must-read novel of love, loss and second chances. Set in the present day and late 80’s, WHAT GOES DOWN deals with relationships touched by mental illness, and is perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Julie Cohen.
Seph Powell has all she ever wanted: a close family, loving boyfriend and her dream career. A gifted artist with a highly anticipated exhibition just weeks away, her life seems to be perfect. Until a man she's never met claims to be her real father.
Laurel and Tony Powell are devoted parents. Having worked hard to provide everything for their daughter, they’ve created an enviable, picture-perfect family. Until Laurel's ex-boyfriend, Nico comes back into their lives.
In the summer of 1987…

Book Review: A Semi Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland

* I have received this book for review from Readers First but this in no way affects my review *

Title: A Semi Definitive List of Worst Nightmares
Author: Krystal Sutherland
Source: From Readers First
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Rating: 5/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary from Goodreads:
Ever since Esther Solar's grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. Esther's father is agoraphobic and hasn't left the basement in six years, her twin brother can t be in the dark without a light on, and her mother is terrified of bad luck.
The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them. 
Esther doesn't know what her great fear is yet (nor does she want to), a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything. Elevators, small spaces, and crowds are all off-limits. So are haircuts, spiders, dolls, mirrors and three dozen other phobias she keeps a record of in h…